To All University Employees:
As of October 1, 2014, a change to state law requires almost all employees of Connecticut higher education institutions to report child abuse and neglect. As a result, all UConn employees, except for student employees, are now “mandated reporters” under state law.
How does this affect you?
It means that if you suspect or believe that an individual under the age of 18 has been abused or neglected, you have a legal obligation to report this directly to the Department of Children and Families (DCF).
Because this duty to report only arises when you find reason to suspect abuse or neglect of a child during the ordinary performance of your job, this change in law is not likely to affect most of you. In case you do encounter this situation, however, information about what you need to report, when you need to report it, and how to make a report, and where you can get further information is summarized below.
Please note that this requirement to report is different from and in addition to your reporting obligations under the University's Sexual Assault Response Policy (SARP), and the obligations some of you have under the federal Clery Act. Under the SARP, almost all UConn employees who witness or receive a report of a sexual assault, regardless of the age of the victim, must report to the Office of Diversity and Equity (ODE). Under the Clery Act, those UConn employees who have been designated Campus Security Authorities (CSAs) must report certain crimes to the Clery Compliance Coordinator.
If you have questions about child abuse reporting requirements, please refer to the DCF website at http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2556&Q=314384, which provides a more detailed overview of reporting obligations and other information that should answer most questions. If, after reviewing this information, you still have questions, you may contact the University’s Office of Faculty and Staff Labor Relations at email@example.com or (860) 486-5684.
Thank you for your attention to this obligation.
Interim Executive Vice President for Administration and CFO
DIRECTIONS FOR REPORTING CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT:
When Must a Report Be Made
Reports must be made to DCF orally within 12 hours of suspecting abuse or neglect, and followed up in writing within 48 hours. Reports should be made to DCF's 24 hour hotline at: 1-800-842-2288.
What Must Be Reported
When making a report, a mandated reporter is required to provide certain information, if known. This includes the name, address, and age of the child, the nature and extent of the suspected injury or neglect, and the person or persons suspected to be responsible for causing the injury or neglect.
Good Faith Reporting
Mandated reporters are protected under Connecticut law for good faith reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect, even if later investigation fails to find abuse or neglect actually occurred.
Mandated reporters are required to give their name when they make a report to DCF. DCF allows reporters to request anonymity.
University's Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Policy: http://policy.uconn.edu/?p=2165
Department of Children & Families: http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2556&Q=314384
For more information, contact: Labor Relations at firstname.lastname@example.org.