Research, Funding, and Awards

  • FYP&LC Award Winners for 2017-2018

    First Year Programs & Learning Communities Award Winners for 2017-2018

    The Office of First Year Programs and Learning Communities (FYP&LC) is pleased to announce the 2017 – 2018 award winners in First Year Experience. On Wednesday April 4th, FYP&LC honored four amazing individuals at the Annual Teaching Excellence Award Reception hosted by the Center for Excellence Teaching and Learning. This year’s award recipients are:

    Outstanding First Year Experience Teaching Awards
    Shoshana Armington, School of Engineering
    Renée M. Gilberti, PhD – McNair Scholars Programs, Institute for Student Success

    John T. Szarlan Memorial Student Mentor Awards
    Jamie Katzenberger, Psychological Sciences and Human Development & Family Studies Double Major
    Juanyi Li, Elementary Education Major

    Go to our album on Facebook to see pictures of the award winners and read their bios on our website! Please join us in congratulating our recipients!

    For more information, contact: Sarah Scheidel at